National Championship News

Quantum Women’s Sailor of the Year and Women All-Americans Named

NORFOLK, V.A. (May 25, 2018) – The Quantum Women’s Sailor of the Year and Women’s All-American and Honorable Mention were announced during an awards presentation at the Sperry College Sailing Women’s National Championship at the Old Dominion Sailing Center.
The Quantum Women’s Sailor of the Year is awarded annually to an individual who has performed at the highest level of competition in district and national championships. The ICSA All-America committee evaluates with great detail all of the finalists’ results and calculates the winner.

Quantum believes that women sailors should receive the same recognition that male sailors receive in the sport to acknowledge their excellence in sailing and continue to foster the growth of women’s sailing.
There was only one finalist this year, which shows how dominant this sailor was on the women’s circuit and how deserving she is, this year’s Quantum Women’s Sailor of the Year is Dana Rohde (Richmond Hill, Ga.), U.S. Coast Guard Academy ’18. Rohde had an incredible year of competition, winning eight women’s events and placing second in A-division in the 2018 Sperry College Sailing Women’s National Championship. She has also been named a Women’s All-American and honorable mention every year of her college sailing career.

“Her record definitely stands alone this year,” says Ian Burman, chair of the ICSA All-America Committee, of Rohde.
“This award honors the most elite in the sport and she is that,” says Brian Swingly, head coach for U.S. Coast Guard Academy. “I am proud and thrilled for her, she is an incredibly professional athlete and works hard everyday to make herself and teammates better. I cannot think of anyone more deserving.”
Rohde started sailing at age 6 in the Savannah, Ga. area. Her father is a sailor and graduated from U.S. Merchant Marine Academy, Kings Point and managed to turn her mother into a sailor also. Rohde is not the first in her family to sail at Coast Guard, however, she has two older sisters, Devon Rohde ’15 and Krysta Rohde ’11, who paved the way.

“I never expected to win this,” says Rohde, “This year was about doing the best we could and that was my focus. This is the best way to end my women’s college sailing career. It will be a reminder of the great time I had sailing in college and the great friends I made.”
Rohde studied operations research and computer analysis while at the Academy and will be an ensign, assigned to Coast Guard Cutter Juniper as a deck watch officer in Newport, RI. She will be in the Coast Guard for the next five years. She has no certain plans for sailing other than continuing to do so in Newport next year and beyond.

The Intercollegiate Sailing Association (ICSA) also announced the 2017-18 Women’s All-America Team. The names of the winners will be added to the ICSA Hall of Fame displayed at the Robert Crown Center at the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, Md.
A committee of representatives from the seven conferences in the ICSA selects the ICSA All-America Team. This year’s committee is: Ian Burman (chair), MAISA; William Martin, MAISA; Geoff Pedrick, MCSA; David Thompson, NEISA; Michael Kalin, NEISA; John Vandemoer, PCCSC; Ward Cromwell, SAISA; Charles Higgins, SEISA; Scott Wilson, NWICSA.
To select an All-American skipper, the committee evaluates a competitor based on their competitive record in inter-conference competition as well as conference and national championships. The committee analyzes how this record compares to fellow competitors, the quality of the competition the record was achieved in, and results achieved competing with different crews, the span of the record over the fall and spring seasons, and how the record compares to previous All-American winners.

The committee selects up to 10 Women All-American skippers and additional Honorable Mentions, together totaling no more than 15. This year the committee selected 10 All-American skippers and five Honorable Mentions.
ICSA Honorable Mention Women’s All-American Skippers:
Ragna Agerup (Oslo, Norway), Brown University ‘20
Audrey Giblin (Monmouth Beach, N.J.), Dartmouth College ‘20
Emily Haig (Beach Haven, N.J.), Massachusetts of Technology ‘21
Taylor Ladd (St. Thomas, U.S.V.I.), Harvard University ‘18
Hannah Steadman (St. Petersburg, Fla.), Brown University ‘20

ICSA Women’s All-American Skippers:
Lindsey Baab (Saratoga, Calif.), Brown University ‘18
Bailey Carter (Winter Park, Fla.), Hobart & William Smith ‘19
Paris Henken (Coronado, Calif.), College of Charleston ‘19
Sarah Hermus (Bellport, NY), University of Rhode Island ‘18
Casey Klingler (Larchmont, N.Y.), Yale University ‘18
Isabella Loosbrock (Excelsior, Minn.), Boston College ‘19
Louisa Nordstrom (Sarasota, Fla.), Yale University ‘20
Sophia Reineke (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), Boston College ‘21
Dana Rohde (Richmond Hill, Ga.), U.S. Coast Guard Academy ‘18
Alie Toppa (Fort Lauderdale, Fla.), College of Charleston ‘20

Quantum Women's Sailor of the Year
Dana Rohde (Richmond Hill, Ga.), U.S. Coast Guard Academy ‘18

To learn more about the teams competing in all of the events and to follow the racing and results visit the event website:
Dan Egan, of Degan Media, will provide some live coverage during the events sponsored by US Sailing, streaming from the event website. Live coverage will be May 25 for the final day of Women’s, May 27 and 28 for the final round of eight and final four of Team Racing, May 30 for last day of Gill Dinghy Semifinals, and both days of Finals May 31 and June 1.
Follow the events via the regatta app from US Sailing, learn how to sign up here:ICSA Nationals App
Additional social media updates will be available throughout the events on the regatta website.
Photo Credit: Colin Grey Voight,
Facebook and Other Social Media Outlets: Colin Grey Voigt
Instagram: @colingrey
Contact: Jennifer Mitchell |Toile à Voile for ICSA | | 970-216-7072 m.
The ICSA sponsors and partners through the 2017-2018 season are: LaserPerformance (, title sponsor of “LaserPerformance Men’s and Women’s Singlehanded National Championship”, title sponsor of “LaserPerformance College Sailing Team Race National Championship” and Official Boat Supplier of the ICSA Spring National Championships. Sperry (, title sponsor of the “Sperry College Sailing Women’s National Championship”. Gill North American (, title sponsor of “The Gill College Sailing National Championship”. Quantum Sail Design Group (, official sponsor of the “Quantum Women’s College Sailor of the Year”. Marlow Ropes (, presenting sponsor of the “Marlow Ropes College Sailor of the Year Award” and “Official Rope of College Sailing”. US Sailing (, “The Robert H. Hobbs Sportsman of the Year Sponsored by US Sailing”.